PEORIA, Ariz. – The Mariners opened Cactus League play with a 7-1 win over the San Diego Padres Thursday afternoon in front of 4,868 fans at Peoria Stadium.

Seattle jumped out to an early lead in the first inning as Kyle Seager reached on a fielder’s choice, Robinson Cano singled to put runners on first and third and Logan Morrison plated the first run with a sacrifice fly. Cano then scored from first on a double by Justin Smoak. In the second, Dustin Ackley led off with a double and eventually scored on a Mike Zunino sacrifice fly to center.

Seattle extended their lead with a three-run sixth inning, scoring two unearned runs on a rally that included hits by Morrison, Xavier Avery, Humberto Quintero and Cole Gillespie to go along with two Padres errors. Seattle scored its final run in the seventh as Carlos Triunfel singled to start the frame and scored after the left fielder bobbled a double down the left field line by Burt Reynolds.

Cano finished his Mariners debut by going 1x1 with a walk and a run scored in two plate appearances. Morrison collected Seattle’s only multi-hit effort and recorded an RBI.

Seattle pitching stifled the Padres offense by keeping them scoreless through the first seven frames as Erasmo Ramirez (2.0 IP), Blake Beavan (2.0), Logan Kensing (1.0), Lucas Luetge (1.0) and Tom Wilhelmsen (1.0) each posted scoreless outings while allowing just four hits.

Danny Farquhar closed out the victory with a scoreless ninth inning to give the Mariners their first win of the Cactus League schedule.

The Mariners (1-0) and Padres (0-1) return to Cactus League play tomorrow (Friday, February 28) at 12:05 PT/1:05 MT at Peoria Stadium. Left-handed pitcher James Paxton is scheduled to start for the Mariners against Padres right-hander Andrew Cashner.

LINESCORE                   1 2 3       4 5 6     7 8 9               R       H      E   

PADRES                         0 0 0       0 0 0     0 1 0     -        1        5      4

MARINERS                    2 1 0       0 0 3     1 0 X     -        7     10      0

WP: Erasmo Ramirez (1-0) LP: Eric Stults (0-1) SV: None

SD – Stults, Roach (3), Carter (5), Schuster (6), Sipp (7), Boyer (8) and River, Hedges (6)

SEA – Ramirez, Beavan (3), Kensing (5), Luetge (6), Wilhelmsen (7), Beimel (8), Farquhar (9) and Zunino, Quintero (6)

Home Runs – SEA: None; SD: None

Attendance – 4,868           Time – 2:32